M14 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a just-starting ,novice rifle operator. I have had rimfire 22's in the past,
but my Standard SA M1-A is my first serious semiautomatic rifle.

This is my situation:

-I tried to load my 10 rnd mag into the gun, would not fit with 10 rnds. 9 or less fits first try everytime. I tried using Winchester white box labeled 7.62x51 nato, then same thing happened using Remington core lok labled .308 Winchester.

-with the 9 rds of Winchester 7.62x51 inside, I successfully let the bolt fly forward and chamber the first round. I fire, and the BOLT STAYED OPEN and did not chamber the 2nd round. I am a noob, and didn't want to further mess with it, so the mag comes out.

-mag with 9 rds of Remington .308 go in, I rack it, fire, and this time the BOLT CYCLES IN THE 2nd ROUND, but when I go to fire the 2nd shot, I just get a click. The firing pin didn't even indent the 2nd round.

I want to be a top notch M1a operator and will be seeking out guidance and further education on this, but for now, anyone have any ideas???

thanks guys

·
Registered
3,026 Posts
Have you taken her apart and cleaned her before you fired her ???? and have you taken her apart to clean her after you shot her ???

·
Registered
6,465 Posts
try putting the mag in with the bolt open then let it ride home on its own.

·
Registered
2,347 Posts
The op is having cycling issues as well. OP, you need to clean the chamber and make sure the gas plug is tight. Grease the rails, oprod track etc

·
Super Moderator
11,238 Posts
Clean it, lube it and try again. Follow the instructions given above. It's good advice.

Also, on this board, avoid the use of the word "operator" if you want to be taken seriously. Many of us are older and we like to use the word "Rifleman".

Good luck,

Tony.

·
Registered
114 Posts
What brand magazine are you using? Did you get the rifle new, or used?