M14 Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
526 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

A newbie here so here goes a question.
I have been looking for a M1A and have noticed some Springfield receivers have the 7.62 MM and some don't.

What is the difference if any?

Thanks,
Tony

·
Registered
5,750 Posts
Age. 7.62mm was on older receivers, I'm not sure of what year they changed, I'm sure someone will know though.

Could be they changed when going international and offered other calibers. Really don't know though.

·
Registered
5,679 Posts
Until at least the late '80s or early '90's you had a choice with SAI's M1A between .308 and .243. I'm thinking they may have also offered 7mm-08 and .260 (6.5mm-08) during a brief snapshot of that era. Different will know exactly when SAI phased out the 7.62-stamped receivers. Obviously, that marking wasn't right for everything they were producing.

·
Registered
9,465 Posts
From M14 Rifle History and Development Fifth Edition:

"The 7.62 millimeter caliber markings began with serial number 000001 and remained as part of the heel stamping until at least serial number 0630XX. By serial number 063112 the caliber marking no longer appears on M1A receivers. Thus, about March 1991 the 7.62-mm and 7.62mm markings were dropped because Springfield Armory, Inc. was producing the M1A in different calibers, e.g., 7mm-08."

and, as a side bar from the same source: