M14 Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Picked up an old "NM" op rod spring guide from someone here, way back, sight unseen. The early version with mag catch welded on. It will not be used but what is the danger of catastrophic failure if/when it would let loose. What's the worst that could happen? Were these early attempts at what they have now evolved in to, anyone with experience with these? Thanks, CTK

Registered
Depends on who made it and how well. There are a bunch of cheap ones out there, Sarco used to sell them among others.

I used to have a bad one, the tab was crooked and it was too long and it made it a PITA to field strip. Now replaced by Sadlak and won't go back. Hey, that has a ring to it. GI1

Registered
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It's been installed, good fit, cycles smoothly, good mag lock up. Just curious what is worse case scenario if breakage occurred under pressure of live fire. Trying to dissect in my mind, but I'm no engineer.

Registered
It's been installed, good fit, cycles smoothly, good mag lock up. Just curious what is worse case scenario if breakage occurred under pressure of live fire. Trying to dissect in my mind, but I'm no engineer.
the amtu style type are junk. noses are annealed and will wear out quickley.

they are silver solderd together and subject to joint failure depending on the quality of workmanship.

later models had a spring pin through both parts as a safety measure.

what can happen and has, is joint failure, the rod fell out, don't ask me how, and jammed against the side of the reciever
bending the oprod on the next round fired. this one did not have the spring pin installed.

get a sadlak

Registered
Discussion Starter · #6 ·