M14 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello gents. I am going to be doing a barrel change on my M1A and am going to be going with an 18" variety. I was wondering what your opinions were. The first option was to go with a standard weight 18" SA barrel. Since I'm going to be sending the rifle to them for some work anyway this may be the cheaper route. The second choice is the Criterion Medium Weight 18.5" Chrome Lined Barrel. I don't really think I need a heavier barrel since the rifle is primarily used for hunting but if the Criterion is alot better then I may go with it.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks
SShultz

·
Registered
2,021 Posts
I'm not an expert on barrels but here's my 2 cents. I doubt you will notice any difference in an SA barrel and a Criterion barrel as far as accuracy is concerned. I'm not saying one is better or worst than the other just that for practical purposes the difference would be very small. Now name value is where you would leap ahead. The Criterion barrel in my opinion has the reputation that will make you feel better and get some additional resale value down the road. A Kreiger barrel will do name value even better and is considered to be a top notch barrel by any standard. You can research barrels all day long and there is a small difference, but practical versus cool is the big difference. I will be putting a Jon Wolfe Medium weight 22" on mine and it's the barrel I want (it's cool) but I don't know if it's the best or not. Probably not much help but then I'm not that savy on barrels, I just know what I like.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Disregard Last!

OK I blame myself for not doing good research prior to posting. The same site that I was looking at for the medium weight sells a Criterion 18.5" standard weight for roughly the same price. I will be going with that.

Sorry for my Jackassary
SShultz

·
Registered
2,021 Posts